Traffic Violations New Jersey

Traffic Law NJ

Below you will find detailed information on Traffic offenses, Point violations, Moving Violations, Driving without Insurance, Drivers license Suspensions, and having your License revoked. Attorney Charles Block, Traffic Ticket Lawyer New Jersey and Traffic Lawyer Burlington County can help you with your traffic and driving charges. Leaving the scene of the accident can be the worst thing a person can do when in this type of situation. These situations can be life altering and we know how stressful that can be to you. Worrying about moving violations and driving charges can leave a person feeling depressed. Read below to find information for your specific situation and call our Voorhees office today so that we can defend you and get you the best possible results for you and your driving privileges. We have handled many cases for people living in Burlington, Camden, and Gloucester counties, getting their driving charges significantly reduced or dropped.

Traffic Offenses Suspended / Revoked

N.J.S.A. 39:3-40
Nov. 19, 2001

Note: For all offenses under this statue that violates Traffic Law Camden County NJ, Traffic Law Gloucester County, Traffic Law NJ and that which involves an accident resulting in personal injury to another, the court is required to impose a period of imprisonment for not less than 45 days, or more than 180 days, N.J.S.A. 39:3-40(e). If the Car Accidents New Jersey or Car Accidents Voorhees NJ results in serious bodily injury to another person then the defendant shall be guilty of a crime of the fourth degree and the defendant's driver's license shall be suspended for an additional period of one year. Please read on for more information involving driving charges.

Offense 39:3-40
Driving while license suspended-general provision
1st Offense $500 Fine, and Driver's license suspension not to exceed 6 months
2nd Offense $750 fine, and Driver's license suspension not to exceed 6 months and imprisonment not more than 5 days, and if 2nd offense occurs within 5 years of a conviction for N.J.S.A. 39:3-4, then revocation of registration certificate for the period driver's license is suspended (see N.J.S.A. 39:3-40.1)
3rd or Subsequent Offense $1,000 fine, and driver's license suspension not to exceed 6 months and imprisonment for 10 days, and if 3rd offense occurs within 5 years of a conviction for N.J.S.A. 39:3-4, then revocation of registration certificate for the period driver's license is suspended (see N.J.S.A. 39:3-40.1)
Offense 39:3-40(f)(I)
1st Offense driving while license suspended due to conviction for N.J.S.A. 39:6b-2, (driving without insurance) $1,000 fine, and driver's license suspension not less than 12 months, nor more than 30 months, and may impose incarceration not to exceed 90 days
2nd Offense $1,250 fine and driver's license suspension of not less than 12 months nor more than 30 months, and may impose period of incarceration of not more than 90 days, and if 2nd offense within 5 years of a conviction for 39:3-40, then revocation of registration certificate for period driver's license is suspended (see N.J.S.A. 39:3-40.1)
3rd or Subsequent Offense $1,500 fine, and driver's license suspension of not less than 12 months nor more than 30 months, and incarceration of not less than 10 days, nor more than 90 days, and if 3rd offense occurs within 5 years of a conviction of N.J.S.A. 39:3-40, then revocation of registration certificate for the period driver's license is suspended (see N.J.S.A. 39:3-40.1)
Offense 39:3-40(I)
1st Offense maximum $100 fine upon proof that the violator has satisfied the parking tickets
Offense 39:3-40(f)(2)
Driving while license suspended due to conviction for:
• 39:4-50 (driving while intoxicated), or
• 39:4-50, 4a (refusal to submit to chemical test), or
• 39:5-30a to 30e (habitual offender)
1st Offense $1,000 fine, and
driver's license suspension of not less than 12 months, nor more than 30 months and incarceration of not less than 10 days, nor more than 90 days, and revocation of registration certificate for the period driver's license is suspended
2nd Offense $1,250 fine, and driver's license suspension of not less than 12 months, nor more than 30 months, and incarceration of not less than 10 days, nor more than 90 days, and revocation of registration certificate for the period driver's license is suspended
3rd or Subsequent Offense $1,500 fine, and driver's license suspension for not less than 12 months, nor more than 30 months, and incarceration of not less than 10 days, nor more than 90 days, and revocation of registration certificate for the period driver's license is suspended
Offense 39:3-40(f)(3)
Driving while license suspended due to conviction for N.J.S.A. 39:4-50, 4a, while driving in a school zone, or driving through a school crossing
1st Offense $1,000 fine, and driver's license suspension for not less than 12 months, nor more than 30 months, and incarceration of not less than 60 days nor more than 90 days.
2nd Offense $1,250 fine, and driver's license suspension for not less than 12 months, nor more than 30 months, and incarceration of not less than 120 days nor more than 150 days if 2nd offense occurs within 5 years of a conviction for N.J.S.A. 39:3-40, then revocation of registration certificate for the period driver's license is suspended.
3rd or Subsequent Offense $1,500 fine, and driver's license suspension for not less than 12 months, nor more than 24 months, plus may impose additional suspension not to exceed 6 months incarceration for 180 days, and if 3rd offense occurs within 5 years of a conviction of N.J.S.A. 39:3-40, then revocation of violators registration certificate for the period driver's license is suspended.
Offense 39:3-40 (g)
Driving while license suspended for failure to pay surcharges under N.J.S.A 17:39-A35
1st offense $500 fine, and driver's license suspension not to exceed 6 months, and $3,000 fine to be collected by DMV. Fine to be waived upon payment of total surcharge imposed.
2nd offense $750 fine, and driver's license suspension not exceed 6 months, and imprisonment not more than 5 days, and $3,000 fine to be collected by DMV. Fine to be waived upon payment of total surcharge imposed, and if 2nd offense occurs within 5 years of a conviction for N.J.S.A. 39:3-40, then revocation certificate for the period driver's license is suspended.
3rd or subsequent Offense $1,000 fine, and driver's license suspension not to exceed 6 months, and imprisonment for 10 days, and $3,000 fine to be collected by DMV. Fine to be waived upon payment of total surcharge imposed if 3rd offense occurs within 5 years of a conviction of N.J.S.A. 39:3-40, then revocation of registration certificate for the period driver's license is suspended.

Traffic Offenses Point Violations

What are Motor Vehicle Points?

Motor Vehicle Services (MVS) tracks your driving behavior by adding points to your record when you are convicted of a Moving Violations Voorhees NJ.

The more serious the violation, the more points you are assessed.

The schedule below is a list of violations and their point values.

MVS points are completely separate from the insurance eligibility points used by the NJ Department of Insurance to assess surcharges on insurance payments.

Will I receive a notice telling me how many points I have?

During the first two years that you are licensed, you're on probation and will receive an advisory notice when you commit your first point violation. If you receive two or more violations totaling four or more points, you must complete the Probationary Driver Program.

After that, MVS will send advisory notices whenever points assessed violations are added to your driving record and the point total is 6 to 11.

At what point level will MVS take action to suspend my license?

For a total of 12 or more points on your driving record, MVS will issue a notice of scheduled suspension of your driving privilege. If such be the case just hire one Traffic Ticket Lawyer NJ, Traffic Ticket Attorney Burlington County or Traffic Attorney Gloucester County to represent you.

How long will point violations remain on my driver record?

All point violations earned since March 1, 1974, remain on your driver history record. However, this record differs from your current driver status.

How can points be removed from my current MVS driver status?

Up to three points will be subtracted from your point total for every year of safe driving (no violations or suspensions). But your point total will never be reduced below zero.

Points are subtracted one year after:

  • your last point violation; or
  • your license was restored; or
  • the last time annual safe driving points were subtracted from your record (which ever is later); or
  • After you complete an MVS driver improvement program, offered to problem drivers selected by MVS. Credit is given for a maximum of one program every two years.

Up to two points may be subtracted from your point total after you complete an MVS approved defensive driving course. Credit is given for one program every five years

NOTE: None of these reductions apply to insurance surcharge point totals.

Any person who is convicted of any of the following offenses, including offenses, Criminal Offences, Disorderly Persons Offense committed while operating a motorized bicycle, shall be assessed points for each conviction in accordance with the following schedule:

N.J.S.A. SECTION NUMBER OFFENSE POINTS
27:23-29 Moving against traffic: New Jersey 2 Turnpike, Garden State Parkway and Atlantic City Expressway 2
27:23-29 Improper passing: New Jersey Turnpike, Garden State Parkway and Atlantic City Expressway 4
27:23-29 Unlawful use of median strip: New Jersey Turnpike, Garden State Parkway and Atlantic City Expressway 2
39:3-20 Operating constuctor vehicle in excess 3 of 30 mph 3
39:4-14.3 Operating motorized bicycle on a restricted highway 2
39:4-14.3d More than one person on a motorized bicycle 2
39:4-35 Failure to yield to pedestrian in crosswalk 2
39:4-36 Failure to yield to pedestrian in crosswalk; passing a vehicle yielding to pedestrian in crosswalk 2
39:4-41 Driving through safety zone 2
39:4-52 and
39:5C-1
Racing on highway 5
39:4-55 Improper action or omission on grades and curves 2
39:4-57 Failure to observe direction of 0fficer 2
39:4-66 Failure to stop vehicle before crossing sidewalk 2
39:4-66.1 Failure to yield to pedestrians or vehicles while entering or leaving highway 2
39:4-66.2 Driving on public or private property to avoid a traffic sign or signal 2
39:4-71 Operating a motor vehicle on a sidewalk 2
39:4-80 Failure to obey direction of officer 2
39:4-81 Failure to observe traffic signals 2
39:4-82 Failure to keep right 2
39:4-82.1 Improper operating of vehicle on divided highway or divider 2
39:4-83 Failure to keep right at intersection 2
39:4-84 Failure to pass to right of vehicle proceeding in opposite direction 5
39:4-85 Improper passing on right or off roadway 4
39:4-85.1 Wrong way on a one-way street 2
39:4-86 Improper passing in no passing zone 4
39:4-87 Failure to yield to overtaking vehicle 2
39:4-88 Failure to observe traffic lanes 2
39:4-89 Tailgating 5
39:4-90 Failure to yield at intersection 2
39:4-90.1 Failure to use proper entrances to limited access highways 2
39:4-91 and
39:4-92
Failure to yield to emergency vehicles 2
39:4-96 Reckless driving 5
39:4-97 Careless driving 2
39:4-97a Destruction of agricultural or recreational property 2
39:4-97.1 Slow speed blocking traffic 2
39:4-98 Exceeding maximum speed 1- 14 mph over limit 2
and
39:4-99
Exceeding maximum speed 15-25 mph over limit
Exceeding maxim speed 30 MPH 0r more over limit
4
5
39:4-105 Failure to stop for traffic light 2
39:4-115 Improper turn at traffic light 3
39:4-119 Failure to slop at flashing red signal 2
39:4-122 Failure to stop for police whistle 2
39:4-123 Improper right or left turn 3
39:4-124 Improper turn from approved turning course 3
39:4-125 Improper "U" turn 3
39:4-126 Failure to give proper signal 2
39:4-127 Improper backing or turning in street 2
39:4-127.1 Improper crossing of railroad grade crossing 2
39:4-127.2 Improper crossing of bridge 2
39:4-128 Improper crossing of railroad grade crossing by certain vehicles 2
39:4-128.1 Improper passing of school bus 5
39:4-128.4 Improper passing of a frozen dessert truck 4
39:4-129 Leaving the scene of an accident - No personal injury
Leaving the scene of an accident - Personal injury
2
8
39:4-144 Failure to observe "stop" or "yield" signs 2
39:50-4 Moving violation out-of-state 2

No Insurance

Uninsured Vehicle
39:6b-2

June 30, 1997 to Present

First Offense

$300.00 to $1,000.00 Fine
$30.00 Court Cost
Community Service time to be at the Judges' Discretion
1 year loss of license

Second or Subsequent Offense

Up to $5,000.00 fine
$30.00 court cost
30 days community service
2 year loss of license
14 days Jail

Receiving a traffic ticket or any moving violations can have a negative impact on a personís life. As a knowledgeable New Jersey lawyer, Attorney Charles Block has the experience necessary to have all moving violations and driving charges significantly reduced or dropped. As an experienced attorney, he has successfully handled cases involving moving violations and driving charges for individuals living in many areas of New Jersey including but not limited to Burlington, Camden, Gloucester and Voorhees. If you are in serious need of an Attorney for driving charges, call Charles Block today for his professional help.

XHTML Validated   CSS Validated