Will A Person Receive Penalties for Leaving the Scene of An Auto Accident?

Tuesday, July 8th, 2014

As a traffic law attorney of New Jersey, one thing I’ve come to understand to be true is that car accidents can happen to anyone at any given time. If you’ve been driving for a while, chances are, you’ve either been involved in an automobile accident or have witnessed one occur first-hand. In many cases, drivers do not even realize they have been involved in an accident and drive off without realizing they have caused an accident. However, if you leave the scene of an accident, you could face serious charges in the state of New Jersey.

There are absolutely penalties for leaving the scene of an accident. If you leave the scene of an accident you could face either traffic ticket charges or in worst case scenarios, criminal charges. Penalties can depend on:

  • Whether or not there was damage to the vehicle
  • Whether or not someone was injured as a result of the accident
  • Whether or not someone was killed as a result of the accident

First Offense Penalties Include:

  • Fine from $200 to $400
  • Spend up to 30 days in jail
  • Six-month license suspension
  • 2 motor vehicle points added to license

Second Offense Penalties Include:

  • Fine from $400 to $600
  • From 30 to 90 days spent in jail
  • 1 year licenses suspension
  • 2 motor vehicle points added to license

Injury or Death:

  • From $2,500 to $5,000 fine
  • 180 days spent in county jail
  • 1 year license suspension for a first offense
  • Permanent license forfeiture for a 2nd offense
  • 8 motor vehicle points added to license

As an experienced traffic defense lawyer, I, Charles Block can craft an effective defense to ensure you avoid severe penalties if you leave the scene of the accident. But, to avoid this scenario altogether, always pull over to the side of the road if involved in an accident and wait for assistance.